A charity book haul

I love rummaging and finding gems at charity bookshops. This book haul is from one of the first bookshops I ever went to - The Red Cross Bookshop in my local town - maybe I'll give you a tour if you guys want a more in-depth look? For now I have the spoils of my … Continue reading A charity book haul

#2 Indies all over | Five Leaves Bookshop

Nottingham's independent bookshop; filled with political literature, classics, new releases focusing on books from independent presses from around the world. Stepping into Five Leaves feels electric: multi-coloured fairy lights adorn bookshelves, Che Guevara quotes are pressed onto windows and radical authors fill up this unassuming bookshop nestling in Long Row. It's a bookshop that really … Continue reading #2 Indies all over | Five Leaves Bookshop

#10 Citizen: An American Lyric | A good book and a cup of tea

Citizen by Claudia Rankine is defiant, affirming and relevant. Read it to understand that oppression has never been as black and white. This is a book that will make you want to be heard and seen. In this collection Rankine assesses microaggressions and oppression-fuelled assassinations of character that follow black people around in America and abroad. … Continue reading #10 Citizen: An American Lyric | A good book and a cup of tea

#4 Saga| A good book and a nice cup of tea

Saga by Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples is a graphic novel that packs heaps of sexy, subversive, omg-what-is-happening-where-is-that-blood-coming-from?! punch. 5 stars all the way. Not one for the easily freaked-out this graphic novella tells the plight of two future humanoids Alana, a prison guard, from planet Landfall (modern day earth) and her husband Marko, a … Continue reading #4 Saga| A good book and a nice cup of tea

#3 A good book and a nice cup of tea | The Woman Who went to Bed for a Year

Sue Townsend's final book is a testament to her literary life - recommeded for fans of Jodi Picoult and JoJo Moyes. Sue Townsend sadly passed away last year and this is my review of her final novel The Woman Who went to Bed for a Year. I will start as, I wish I could start … Continue reading #3 A good book and a nice cup of tea | The Woman Who went to Bed for a Year